Chapter 2 – Section 11

It’s been a minute since I’ve written. To be honest, I actually have written several times but didn’t finish it therefore leaving them as drafts. Ah well. One day, I’m sure i’ll go back to the draft to bring up the topic that was being written about.

Nothing too exciting has been happening over here in our space. OH! I have been a bit under the weather for almost a week now. I’ve tested 3x in the last 6 days & was negative – so maybe I just have a cold. Remember those? LOL So weird that folks just can’t feel like crap.

Anyway – I have been obsessing over our back yard & side yard. Clearing the overgrown grass & weeds from the side yard – leveling in a gradual slope to the back yard, laying a weed barrier, do a minimal border with low maintenance shade loving plants & then mulch & a paver path to the main back yard. And then for the back yard – starting with the step down from my deck, clearing the grass, leveling along with the weed barrier & doing larger pavers with gravel to tie in with the small cement slab from the downstairs sliding door – making it one continuous connected space. In my head, I have half wine barrels, about 5-6 of them that separate the pavers area from the lawn area. In the half wine barrels are the large posts to attach string lights as well as those shade cloths on hot days with some nice plants/flowers in each barrel.

In this said space will be a potting bench. A cute seating conversation set. M’s grill. And when we want to have dinner with friends – we can set up the folding tables on the pavers under the shade cloths so that it helps keep everyone cool.

Later down the road – I wouldn’t mind doing one of those small greenhouses & 2 raised garden beds. But I’ve decided that in order to have one of those, I need to prove that I’m capable of growing more than tomatoes. lol I’m not going to do all that in case i suck ass at growing anything else.

2 weeks ago I started on my seedlings & I’m pretty hopeful about since almost all of them have sprouted. I have regular bok choy, tomatoes, zucchini, cucumbers, salad mix greens & kale. Then last week I started another tray with chinese yard long bean, grey squash, cilantro, sweet peppers, chives & baby bok choy. I’m thinking of starting another 2 trays in a month so that I can have another round of things that we may eat plenty of along with ginger & garlic. But we shall see if I can keep up. Oh! I’ll also be starting potatoes next month – I’m hoping I have better luck this year with those. And even those – I think i’ll plant a bucket, then start another one a month from then & then another bucket a month from that one. So that it’s a continuous grow. And then comes the time for a root storage option. But one thing at a time.

I’d also like to do a few low maintenance flowers to bring some pollinators & then hostas as well as japonica again.

You wanna know what else? I think I wanna build something. Maybe for now – just planters for my stuff, straight lines, simplicity. I really don’t know if i’ll be able to, but how else will i find out? Things are getting expensive & I think that if I can make some really nice quality yet decent stuff, I’d really enjoy it. M says that I should just pay the money & have someone else make it. LOL. Rude…

Anywho, that’s all for now. Hope you’re all well. Xoxo

2 thoughts on “Chapter 2 – Section 11

  1. This is such a a great post!!! Did the sun inspire you? When you decide to build something you better invite me to help. I want to learn too!

  2. Grrrrrrrllll I can’t build, plant, garden or anything! I hate yard work too! I use my allergies (which are pretty bad) to get out of it πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
    So you go on with your bad ass self!
    If you build it… they will come!
    πŸ˜‚

Leave a comment